An Idea Revisited

Fruit leather

 

 

 

An idea revisited after 6 years. When I was in my second year of apprenticeship in Canada I was handed a box of rotting fruits by my chef as he replied with humor “Do something with this”

As I needed to impress him in order to get out of the cold prep hell I had been living for the past while; I wanted to come up with something fast. So I tinkered and cursed, as chefs tend to do and eventually came up with wonderful peach fruit leather. It was thin, pliable, sweet and sour but most importantly it was cost recovery and all natural. I experimented with it on a limited base and eventually moved away from it to explore other culinary ideas.

Well as I said it’s back and plan on getting at least five dishes together by weeks end utilizing my precious paper. Sundried cranberry leather with Foie. Peach and Thyme leather to accompany my cocoa pate. At the height of summer here in Japan I am looking forward to revisiting this baby of mine.

Recipe to follow shortly.

Comments
4 Responses to “An Idea Revisited”
  1. Kate says:

    what a clever way to use rotten fruit ! not that i know how leather made from rotting fruit tastes , but sure does sound interesting.did u manage to get out of the cold prep !

  2. chefledarney says:

    Well after 4 years no. I was instead unofficially (as in no pay raise) promoted to chef tournant. It was an honor as I was instantly moving freely between the sections to help where needed.

  3. Kate says:

    and now you are exec chef ! Salute ! i’m sure you’ve earned your way up here, and i know for a fact that u must’ve worked real hard to be here.

  4. chefledarney says:

    It’s been a long road for sure. I don’t consider myself lucky by any means, I did earned what I have, but there were so many people along the way that made this possible.

    Having great mentors, peers and the opportunities to succeed are just as important as success itself

Leave a Reply

