The Big “a”

And so the journey begins.

After being in Japan for six months now I have started to begin my language training. My time spent in China taught me one thing; when learning a language in a new country, get settled in first then hit the books.

I feel a certain amount of excitement knowing that I will one day be communicating in Japanese, my second Asian language. The only difference in my approach compared to that of mandarin is I will commit to hitting my Katakana and Hiragana hard. Although China uses a simplified form of characters I never really got beyond learning around 100 of them. That is so say being able to write them, my recognition is a lot better.

Every journey begins with a single step, here’s my first:

 

 

“a”

a.gif

Comments
4 Responses to “The Big “a””
  1. SR says:

    Love the site enhancement. Great job chef, Ganbade!

    Glad to hear your voice on Podcast interview too. I would recognize you If one day I had the chance to meet you here in the C-Train. 🙂

  2. chefledarney says:

    The podcast was fun to do, It seems people have taken some interest in what I have done thus far in Asia. If one day you hear me on the subway please come over and say hello.

    🙂

  3. Nancy says:

    Hey Nolan,

    I’m glad you’re enjoying Tokyo. I loved your food pics, it makes my mouth water just looking at them.

    -Nance

  4. chefledarney says:

    Thanks! I have more on the way.

Leave a Reply

